Fences

Friday, July 15, 2022

+ 9 dates

  • Saturday, July 16, 2022
  • Sunday, July 17, 2022
  • Monday, July 18, 2022
  • Tuesday, July 19, 2022
  • Wednesday, July 20, 2022
  • Thursday, July 21, 2022
  • Friday, July 22, 2022
  • Saturday, July 23, 2022
  • Sunday, July 24, 2022

1200 West Algonquin Road, Palatine, IL 60067

View map $15-25 Add to calendar

Fences

Written by August Wilson

Directed by Laura Pulio Colbert

Troy Maxson’s yard is his refuge. A sanctuary where, at long last, the grass is finally green. But it can always be greener, right? A former star of the Negro baseball leagues, he now works as a garbage man in 1957 Pittsburgh. Excluded as a black man from the major leagues during his prime, Troy's bitterness takes its toll on his relationships with his wife and his son, who now wants his own chance to play ball. Troy’s story is both unique and universal — a portrait of the unsteady bridge between fathers and sons and the dreams that drive them forward. Wilson’s FENCES remains one of the most powerful plays, written by perhaps the most influential American playwright of the 20th Century.  

"One of the great characters in American drama. One of the richest experiences I have ever had in the theatre. I wasn't just moved. I was transfixed." - New York Post

Ticket Price: $ 15 Harper Students (w/Harper ID 2 tickets per student)

$ 20 Other Students, Harper Staff, Seniors

$ 25 General Admission

For ticket information go to: https://www.harpercollege.edu/services/arts/boxoffice.php

....................................

Audition Information: Seeking strong actors of color. All roles are open.  Contact director Laura Pulio Colbert lpulio@harpercollege.edu for additional information or to schedule an audition appointment.

Audition dates: Thursday 04/21/2022 & Friday 04/22/2022 7-9PM (by appointment)

Callback: Sunday 04/24/2022 2-5PM (by invitation only)

Material to Prepare: Please prepare one monologue from the contemporary theatre for the general audition. Callback audition will be by invitation only. Headshot and resume @ audition are appreciated but not required.  You do NOT need to be a Harper student to audition.  Contact lpulio@harpercollege.edu to schedule an audition appointment.

Event Details

0 people are interested in this event

Map of  Outdoor Pavilion

User Activity

No recent activity